computerhelp Aimoo Forum List | Ticket | Today | Member | Search | Who's On | Help | Sign In | |
computerhelp > Computer Questions > Mac Go to subcategory:
Author Content
Sharkky
  • Subscribe Thread
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Date Posted:12/09/2016 4:17 PMCopy HTML

I transferred a bunch of  icons from the 'all files folder' to the documents folder, now, they're not showing !

they were in there, now, they have disappeared ! where in the world did all that work go ?


I see them listed in 'Finder' but nothing happens when you click or right click, just sitting there

any one know what could have happened to like 400 sigs, tags, icons, emoticons ?
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #1
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/09/2016 6:17 PMCopy HTML

I don't know of any "Folder" named "All files folder" in a Windows operating system...were you using Windows Explorer and searched for them using option to look into "All files/folders/subfolders"  ??


Just makes no sense to me to say you have an "All files" folder...


Can you use Windows Explorer and do a complete search of the "C" drive in all Folders and sub folders for files with *.???  (where ??? = the extension of your icons??


I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #2
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/09/2016 7:31 PMCopy HTML

You forgot I got a Mac Mini now LOL
what may had happened after I clicked on all those files in my all files folder and sent them to a email then uploaded them to the documents folder to be able to find the ones I used the most fastest. I went back to the all files folder and deleted them to save space.

what may had happened is when I deleted them for some reason it deleted them from the Documents is well.
So, all those hrs. of work just went poof !!!

they say what U do in a pc never gets lost, but, in my case it probably will.

In my laptop Windows pc I have most of them. Just have to send that kind of stuff using the laptop not the new Mac Mini I guess.

Makes me sick to my stomach I stayed up till midnight last night doing that work to about 400 files, then , I got up today and deleted each one by hand out of my all files folder only to find out I killed what I did last night I guess.


just gonna forget about it I'm not doing that all over again just wade thru the 3000 pics, music, etc. I have in 'all files'.
sigh........

wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #3
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/09/2016 10:34 PMCopy HTML

Your right Sharky, I didn't connect your problem with an Apple operating system...mea culpa..☺☺☺


Good luck recovering your lost files..


I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #4
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/09/2016 11:44 PMCopy HTML

now I've figured out when you delete the pics from 'all files' they disappear from Documents ! and you can't put animated stuff in the Photo section because they won't animate !
So, now, I got to get hundreds back in the 'all files' area anyway !!!!!!!!
I give up !!!


D_Runner Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #5
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:2669
  • Posts:2669
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/15/2008 12:30 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/10/2016 1:20 AMCopy HTML

If you emailed all that stuff to yourself, you should be able to recover it just by downloading your attachments. Might take a while, but you should be able to get it all back. Yes, anything deleted in "All Files" (the Mac equivalent of Library) will vanish from any subfolder it is in since "All Files" links directly to  everything you have in your Docs, Pics, etc. folders.

If you didn't have an email back up of the files and the deleted items were automatically emptied from the Trash, you'd have to use a third party program to try and recover them and it will only recover things that the system hasn't yet had a chance to over-write, since deleting something on a computer doesn't mean it's erased, but is marked as "free space" that can be used for other purposes.

Time Machine can also be used to recover deleted files, but it has to be properly set up beforehand, to select what to back up, where to put it, and how often to back up and whether backups are differential (changes only) or complete (all contents of specified folders).

See if you can't download your attachments from the email you backed up to before you try anything else other than checking the Trash to see if any of them are still there. Files in the Trash are marked "deletable" but are not deleted until the Trash is emptied.

DR
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #6
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/10/2016 2:47 AMCopy HTML

Yep, 'all files' is tricky business. if you think you got it all figured out and now it's OK to delete the stuff you've stock piled you'll soon figure out no matter where U put it it's gone. Anything in Photos won't animate just dead pictures. LOL
Thank God I got plenty of pc's laying around. On my laptop is all the files that I sent to my email and Windows will let me put them back where they came from, so, I'm not losing nothing. Just uploading them all back................I had separate folders in Windows too, so, I can put the xmas ones in the xmas files, etc. so forth and so on.

Laptop is Windows 10 bought it with 10 in it. Therein lies the rub. I think if you buy a 10 machine you won't have the trouble I had on the DESKTOP that had 7 in it, I updated to 8, then, Windows updated it themselves to all the 10 updates and that's when it hit the fan and I had to pitch it out and get this Apple for the desktop.

I need to go back to walmart and buy another red laptop that has 10 in it. I like some stuff about Windows and like the Apple too. Guess I got the best of both worlds. LOL

Now, I have to spend another all nighter uploading these **** things back to 'my pictures' area !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #7
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/11/2016 11:21 PMCopy HTML

Got the Asus DVD/CD external drive thingy up and running now.
I need more USB ports only got 8 need at least 2 more LOL

got to buy a scanner now.

Had to kick the GPS to another pc, the laptop, I can update it from there. no more room at the Inn on the Apple. LOL

Hopefully, the Apple will last and not give me any headaches or dangers in the road
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #8
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/12/2016 12:11 PMCopy HTML

USB's can be easily added and not expensive..this one will turn a single existing USB port into 4..I have one and they work fine...




I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
D_Runner Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #9
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:2669
  • Posts:2669
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/15/2008 12:30 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/12/2016 5:56 PMCopy HTML

The ease of expandability of USB is a wonderful feature... I have a ten port Rosewill powered hub and it's one of the handiest things on my computer desk. Everyone needs a good hub since most of us collect peripherals like some folks collect spoons or clocks, etc.

DR
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #10
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/13/2016 1:54 AMCopy HTML

Went to Target and got a Hp copy, scan and print. Mainly just for the scan feature will make that printer the default one.
going to attempt to set it up wifi since the router thing is 2 ft from the Mac Mini would save on one USB port being needed

guess you just plug it into power and go to the support page and download the software from there. I've read the directions 20 times
sure want to avoid that replacement ink ordering option. Hopefully, I can avoid that in the set up.
Sharkky Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #11
  • Rank:
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:11/06/2008 2:51 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:12/14/2016 2:49 AMCopy HTML

Got the printer, but, it made itself the default one, the other died guess the new one deactivated it.
Oh well, it was old give it away to poor folk.

wifi 'd it to free up one more USB connection.  Went pretty smooth !


all done now ! got the dvd/cd rw thingy, got the HP new scan and print , all card reader for my pics, USB hub extra connections. Apple Mac Mini Santy bought us, had the extra power put to it instead of 4gb 500 I got the 8GB 1TB put in it makes it start up faster, paid for the 3 yr protection plan and one hr. of tech service to set it up for me. to by pass all the gobblegoop for me.

Only out little over 1,000  Thanks Windows 10 updates !
Merry Christmas you all !
tea4uanytime Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #12
  • Rank:none
  • Score:0
  • Posts:0
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/21/2008 3:06 AM

Re:question

Date Posted:10/21/2019 5:24 PMCopy HTML

I finally got me a good used imac 21.5in i5 something anyway having it all put together by a friend who's a mac tech so hopefully should have it within the week.It's a 2015 one but he says it's a good one. Hope I don't have too many problems with it otherwise it will stay in shop more than on my desk.lol. This ought to be fun but will keep one of my hp pc's for backup lol. At least I can come here for something small and that's a big help.Thank you Carol
LyndaQueen Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #13
  • Rank:none
  • Score:3
  • Posts:3
  • From:USA
  • Register:01/03/2009 5:45 PM

Re:question

Date Posted:01/29/2021 4:06 PMCopy HTML

T  I have the same IMac that you have.    I ordered it  from Apple.   It has been refurbished and it is a champ.   I have had it for 4 years.....  It is  the best computer I have ever had.   Gerald Clay taught me how to use it and showed me all the tricks.....  well some tricks.... lol....  It is very simple and I can help you a bit....    I am glad I can post on here again.....  Thanks DR.... 

Copyright © 2000- Aimoo Free Forum All rights reserved.