computerhelp Aimoo Forum List | Ticket | Today | Member | Search | Who's On | Help | Sign In | |
computerhelp > Computer Questions > Linux Go to subcategory:
Author Content
ewaynec
  • Subscribe Thread
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:561
  • Posts:561
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/16/2008 9:11 PM

Date Posted:08/18/2019 6:57 PMCopy HTML

I just received an old Dell laptop from a friend. It is very slow, has XP installed. I am thinking I should install Linux, but I see there have been a lot of changes since I used it (I had ver. 10.4). Namely the new version is for 64 bit only, and has no GUI. Those two things were enough to stop me. What do I need to install Linux on this old laptop.

   Thanks for any input.

For the man who thinks he is free, there is no escape. Wayne Collier.
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #1
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/19/2019 12:55 PMCopy HTML

I've been looking at the XTRA-PC to try on my old Vista Laptop and maybe on my XP desktop..You just edit your BIOS (use F12 during boot and put the USB option first and HD second for Boot preference) and plug the XTRA-PC into a USB slot and reboot..


Take a look at this option and see what you think:


https://www.xtra-pc.com/

I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
ewaynec Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #2
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:561
  • Posts:561
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/16/2008 9:11 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/20/2019 2:14 PMCopy HTML

I looked at that, and looked at some similar ideas. You don't have to buy the "xtra-pc", all you have to do is download lubuntu, put it on a USB stick and run it. My problem is the old Dell laptop has 256Mb of memory and it is not up-gradable. I found a version (lubuntu) that works on low resource laptops but it says it requires 512 Mbs and 1Gb to have all the features. I have downloaded it and I will try it today. My question is does anyone know of something else I can try. This is not a something I need, it is just a challenge to see if it can be done, but I am in the process of pressure washing the vinyl siding on the house. Life goes on.
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #3
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/20/2019 2:46 PMCopy HTML

Let me know how that works out for you...I kinda like the USB approach that Xtra-PC provides...you get the software with it that will transfer all the files you want to save from your HD to the Digital Drive on the stick..after complete installation of Xtra-PC your old system HD can die without effecting anything.


It will be very fast since everything is done from the digital stick.  I think the 64GB's on the stick will hold every file I want to save..and best of all I can move that stick to any computer.  So for ~$80.00 I'll have a "new" computer.


But if your method works fine for you just let me know..and I'll probably do the same thing..


I see 64GB sticks selling for about $10 to $15 each so your way saves about $70.



I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #4
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/21/2019 12:52 PMCopy HTML

This article supports your method of installation:


Article

I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
ewaynec Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #5
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:561
  • Posts:561
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/16/2008 9:11 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/23/2019 3:26 PMCopy HTML

I tried several distros, and none would install, I keep getting pages of errors. I did get one to install (a full version)and got as far as the login screen. It said "invalid user id and password. I know I was using the right one I found a way to go into the program and see the password, and it was just like I was entering it. Like I said this is not a priority, I just wanted to play. My friend was going to throw it away, now I guess I will. BTW It had XP loaded, but I wiped that out accidentally. I can install it again but I have 30 days to authenticate it and I can't do that any more. Ah well!
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #6
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/24/2019 1:07 PMCopy HTML

OK...that tells me to buy the Xtra-PC, 64GB version, with everything already installed..I will probably do that before long..


I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
ewaynec Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #7
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:561
  • Posts:561
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/16/2008 9:11 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/25/2019 1:22 PMCopy HTML

The problem with this is I don't have enough memory (I have 256Mbs). RAM 512 MB (minimum), 2 GB (recommended) and it is not up-gradable.
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #8
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:08/25/2019 2:41 PMCopy HTML

You don't need memory on your old XP computer...the Xtra-PC comes with 64GB's already on the USB device...It has it's own DHDrive.  If you can still edit your BIOS to put boot from USB option first your existing operating system can be dead...


Will Xtra-PC Work On My Computer?

Laptops, desktops, and netbooks made in 2004 or later work with Xtra-PC.  Xtra-PC runs from the USB slot so you don't even need any operating system to be currently working on your computer.  Because Xtra-PC runs from USB, it even works on computers with missing or faulty hard drives.

Computers that originally had Windows 8 or Windows 10 should work.  They may require that the computer be set to legacy mode.  Instructions for doing that are here.

Your computer must be able to boot from USB. Most computers made after 2004 will boot from USB.  It's a simple process to boot from Xtra-PC using the boot menu key on your PC.  Check the instructions for booting here.



I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
ewaynec Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #9
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:561
  • Posts:561
  • From:USA
  • Register:12/16/2008 9:11 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:09/01/2019 1:33 PMCopy HTML

I did find out something very interesting. The "Dell Inspiron 1000 is designed to run Windows XP and will not run anything else. The drivers are in the firmware and cannot be changed, the memory cannot be upgraded. Even another version of Windows XP will not work. So I guess I will have to put a quarter in it so I will be throwing something away.
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #10
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:09/02/2019 3:15 PMCopy HTML

Before you toss it...try and see if you can boot from USB...will be interested if you can..


When you first apply power to the unit start tapping the F12 key on the keyboard..


How to turn on "Boot from USB" option


I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
wm4bama Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo #11
  • Rank:Diamond Member
  • Score:4762
  • Posts:4762
  • From:USA
  • Register:02/11/2009 11:04 PM

Re:new installation

Date Posted:09/06/2019 10:07 AMCopy HTML

My request seems confusing...I did not want you to actually try to boot from USB..just wanted to see if you get the option to set it as first choice in your BIOS when you power up using the F12 key to edit your BIOS..


I feel more like I do now than I did a while ago...
Copyright © 2000- Aimoo Free Forum All rights reserved.